Comparison is the thief of joy.

– Theodore Roosevelt 

I stand in front of the mirror, meticulously peering at my reflection before I go out for the day. I look first at my outfit – these shorts aren’t fitting me like they’re supposed to today. This shirt hugs my stomach a bit too much for my liking. My oddly proportioned body just seems awkward in this outfit, and I change into something different, for fear of everyone else thinking the same thing. I throw on a cardigan to cover up my unfit arms and I sigh, i guess this will do.

My focus is turned to my hair and I long for it to be longer like every other girl I know. The weather has turned it frizzy, and I wish for perfect hair. As if that were a thing. 

Next I look at my face, my attention turning to the imperfections and blemishes. I don’t even take much time to inspect my face, for I know I won’t be happy any way. I stand back and take one last look at myself. My shoulders are slumped and I try to suck in my gut a little bit more. that’s not terrible. I mutter before I walk out of my room. It could be better. I could look like her. Or have her perfect skin. Or my best friend’s perfect hair. Or her shape, for I fear I am too petite and not thin enough. I am never content. 


 

Why do we do this? Why do we constantly compare ourselves to who we aren’t, rather than appreciating who we are? No, we will never look like her or him. But that’s okay! We are all created to be different and unique. We are all perfect in our own ways. Do not be afraid to embrace your individuality. Perhaps you have a freckled face? No one else has the same exact freckles as you do! And that one dimple in your cheek? Someone someday will find that the cutest thing ever. The scars that zig zag across your wrists are not reminders of the past, but reminders of the fact that you are here and you triumphed. There is no such thing as an imperfection, for you are you. And you are perfect.

Do not compare yourself to another. Please.

Leave a Reply

