take me back to the start.

Nobody said it was easy,

oh it’s such a shame for us to part.

Nobody said it was easy,

no one ever it would be this hard.

Oh, take me back to the start.

Don’t you love coldplay? I know I do. They’re one band that I always find myself listening to over the years, no matter how much my music taste has changed or how much their sound hasn’t changed.

It’s comforting to come back to something that is so unchanging such as old music. Because no matter how much the music styles have changed, your favourite song or album is still the same as it was the first time you listened to it. Right now, I’m going through a season of changes. I watch as my best friends celebrate their graduations from high school and I prepare to celebrate my own. It feels odd being on this end of the picture. As a junior and sophomore, it always seemed like that being senior was this huge, unattainable thing. It felt as though my last year of high school would never in a million years come. I tended to glorify the seniors, telling myself I’d never be “that cool”. I yearned for the day that everything would change and I would feel like a cool senior. But that day never came. And even now as my friends smile and accept their diplomas in their caps and gowns, I still do not feel as though we ARE seniors. I feel like not much has changed since freshman year, but everything has changed at the same time.

It’s an odd sensation. Looking back at the past three months of my life, things have changed severely. I’m not the same girl who started this blog in late March. In fact, I don’t know fully who I am or what I’m doing. I’m not sure at all. Part of me feels like I lost myself  when my heart broke for the first time. yet another part of me feels like I found myself when that happened. I’m living and I am learning and that is all I know for sure. 

 

Leave a Reply

