the cross = love.

I think I’ve written before of my inabilities to forgive and my struggle to have a gracious heart. I’ve told you of my trials and tribulations, and the redemption I’ve found in Christ. I’ve bore my heart to people I don’t even know through this little blog of mine, and I really couldn’t tell you exactly why. Maybe it’s because it is a healthy outlet for me as I continue to walk this road of recovery. Maybe it’s because I want you to feel like you’re never alone. Maybe it’s both.

Maybe it’s because I feel like my story is worthwhile and worth telling. I could be burdened with the weight of things I’ve done, things I’ve said and things that have happened to me. But I am not. I am no longer chained to the past and my regret. Although the past haunts me in my waking and my sleeping, it no longer binds me. I’m learning to live a life without shame, for I have been made new. I have been set free through the blood of Christ Jesus.

The cross equals love. He does not look on me as a sinner, stained with regret and worry and mistakes. No, He sees me as a new creation – crafted by His careful hand. He looks at me with joy and pride, for I am HIS child, blameless in His sight. Even on the lowest days, when I feel absolutely repulsive from the ick of my mistakes, He still sees me as a beautiful work of art. Sometimes it’s hard for me to understand this. So often I don’t believe it. But it is true.

And I want you to know that. I understand that many of you don’t believe in God or share my convictions, but I want you to know that you are loved and accepted. Your past does not define you. You are present, you are here. And your future holds so many unexpected, wonderful things. I believe in you. I believe that you can be valiant. 

Leave a Reply

