written in early spring

The birds around me hopped and played,

their thoughts I cannot measure –

but the least motion which they made

it seemed a thrill of pleasure

– william wordsworth (lines written in early spring)

Ah, spring. I near forgot how wonderful spring is, for the winter seemed as though it would be eternal. Last year it did not seem like we had much of a spring, since the summer heat came far too soon. I personally am more of a autumn, winter type of person, but today I am really enjoying the gorgeous weather. It’s warm but not too warm, and sunny with just a little bit of shade. The birds are chirping around me, and neighbors mow their lawns while children play and shout. 

//

I am here and my heart feels light, no longer feeling burdened by the pains of missing another or the feeling of discontentment. I feel a refreshing spirit of glee and peace, one I’ve not felt for a very long while. My last year of high school is coming to an end and I am almost ready to turn the page to a new chapter of my life. 

//

when I was a child, my parents had a small garden in our back yard where they grew flowers. I think I was around the age of four when my dad took me outside to show me all of the different flowers. It was a spring day much like this, and I was probably wearing and obnoxiously frilly dress with an equally obnoxious hat. (My parents thought it was cute. I did not.) I pointed out the flowers and he would tell me what they are called. I pointed to some beautiful flowers and asked, “What are those called?” He replied, “Those are mums!” (chrysanthemums to be exact.) I quickly replied with a, “Where’s yours?”

This has been a joke within my family for years, and I always think of it when the flowers start blooming.

Spring, I am ready to see what blooms within my life as well.

Leave a Reply

