I want to be a lost boy. (well…girl.)

“If growing up means it would be beneath my dignity to climb a tree,
I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up! Not me!”

Oh, how the words of J.M. Barrie (the author of Peter Pan!) ring true to me. I’ve always been a rather adventurous soul with an ever curious spirit. Typical childhood shenanigans involved climbing trees or walls, parading about in my Robin Hood cloak, pretending I was Joan of Arc, or searching for Narnia in every wardrobe I came across. 

But as I grew older, I began climbing mountains, watching BBC’s Robin Hood series, writing essays about Joan of Arc, and merely reading about Middle Earth or Narnia. (I’ve also ditched the cloak. Although I kind of wish I hadn’t…)

Though I’ve grown up a lot and have found my own way in the mad world of adults, I haven’t lost my adventurous spirit. I still find great pleasure in climbing trees and reading fairytales. In fact, one of my best friends often accompanies me in my tree climbing adventures. I still dream like nothing could stop me. I still see the world with wide eyes. 

And I don’t think I will ever lose that ever curious spirit. 

Leave a Reply

