the sweet small clumsy feet of April came

into the ragged meadow of my soul.

// e. e. cumming

This is but a short snippet from a poem by e. e. cummings. But for some reason, it speaks to me. March was a whirlwind of a month in my life, and it sure felt as though I stumbled (rather ungracefully) into April. April is the month that I and many other high-school seniors get weary. Graduation is so close and tangible, yet so far away. Though at the same time, the semester has flown by! We are faced with the harsh reality that in just a over a month, we will be graduating from ever we’ve known for these past few years. The future is so uncertain, but it holds so many promises. For some, the promise of college and new endeavors. For others, the promise of travel and becoming someone new. For those not graduating, maybe April is the month that you realize how weary you are. April has always felt like a kind of “slump” month to me.

Even so, I will stumble my way through, gracefully or not gracefully. I’m learning how to dance through life, and bumbling about at first is natural.

-erin

Leave a Reply

